Hidden Treasures in the Valley of Fire.

JASON ENGLAND
4 min readApr 24, 2021

--

As a seasoned traveler with over 22 countries visited I was shocked to find one of the worlds most beautiful hidden treasures just 45 minutes outside Las Vegas. While in Vegas amongst all the glitter and glam, I found myself looking to get out of the city for a day hike, that's when I discovered the Valley of Fire Nevada State park. I immediately packed up my backpack and headed out to the park known for 40,000 acres Aztec red sandstone outcrops nestled in gray and tan limestone.

Jason England Aventuras World travel Valley of Fire State Park Entrance April 2021

When I arrived to the park I was taken back at the shear beauty, it was as if I was in an actual painting. The vast scale of the rocks and mountains was breathtaking. As you enter the park you’ll have to pay a $10 fee ($15 for non NV vehicles.) They provide a Veterans discount as well and when I tried to pay the friendly Park Ranger said “Thank you for your service!” and sent me on my way with out having to pay the fee! Four miles from the entrance is a visitor center packed with amazing facts and history of the Valley of Fire and the role it played in Native American tribes dating back to 50 B.C. . Examples of the Petroglyphs and the rock features are on full display with a small theatre to watch a video on the history of how the national park was at one time public domain. The visitor center also has a small gift shop with souvenirs, snacks and refreshments for sale. This is your last chance to get water so be sure to stock up as the park can reach temperatures of nearly 120 degrees in the peak of Summer.

Visitors Center (Left), Bee Hives Rock Formations (Right)

After leaving the visitor center I drove to the rock formation called the Bee Hives. These rock formations were absolutely incredible, several small dome like rock formations that clearly look like giant sized Bee Hives colored in a rainbow of Red and tan lime stone swirled in a way I can’t really describe. From the Bee Hives I headed to Atlatl Rock, an atlatl is a dart thrower that ancient tribes used to give more force to their darts or spears. Atlatl Rock is an amazing rock formation where you can see petroglyphs of ancient tribal atlatl throwers. The fact you can stand and see the story that an ancient tribal member once stood and told his/her story in rock is surreal. The petroglyphs at Atlatl Rock have existed for over 4000 years. The site of Atlatl Rock was not easy to access with well over 100 stairs, no complaints here but I can only imagine 4000 years ago long before these stairs existed and how hard this spot would have taken to get to and the climbing skills it would have taken. It makes me wonder why this spot was chosen. Imagine the importance of the story that these Petroglyphs represent and the lengths the the tribal member went to document it in rock.

As I toured the Valley of Fire state park there were many amazing rock formations full of Vibrant colors around every corner. Several half mile to 4 mile hikes are through out the park and take you to a place that puts you on the likes of Mars like terrain. Petrified wood hundreds of thousands years old , A rock formation called Elephant rock and plant life of all sorts that thrive in the barren desert. I hadn’t realized how colorful the pink, purple and yellow flowers could be in such a hot climate especially mixed in with the Aztec red sandstone. As you can imagine I couldn’t see the whole park in just a day but what I did see was well worth the day hike and reason for a return to see what I missed.

Amazing Rock Formations colored in Aztec red and tan Lime stone. April 2021

If you find yourself in Las Vegas and need a break from the Glitz and Glam and looking to see some of the most beautiful terrain I have ever seen then pack your backpack and take the 45min drive North on I-15 to exit 75 and explore The Valley of Fire Nevada State Park.

--

--